Step by Step guitar building 1 – designing the body

Hi,

This is the first entry detailing the step by step process I took for building my own guitar. In this entry I am going to detail how I designed and carved out my own guitar body from a wood plank.

This is intended to not just show my process, but hopefully help nad inspire others to do the same! Now, this was my first attempt at putting together a guitar, and over the years I have actually had to keep going back to it and change hardware and electronics – even the neck a couple times! So what I am saying is not every step worked out perfect, but I will detail how I corrected it afterwards as well so that you can get a good idea about the whole journey this guitar has taken. It plays great now but I will get to that eventually – with video evidence too. For now…step 1!

  1. The wood: I acquired the piece of wood from a carpenter I knew. He did not know what type of wood it is, and to this day I haven’t a clue. It’s hardwood and it was the right dimensions so that’s all that mattered.
  2. The design:  I pencilled in my design onto the wood using other guitars as a size-reference, then ended up making it larger and wider than my other guitars to make the most of all the wood.
  3. Cutting it to shape:
SAM_3013
As you can see, I pencilled out the design and used a Jigsaw to cut it out. The cut-aways were quite tricky but the Jigsaw was able to manage it as you can see below:
SAM_3028
I got the neck from a guitar luthier in a basement in Denmark Street in London. The guy completely lied to me, telling me there was nothing wrong with it and sold it for £20. I later found out that the neck was actually quite warped and wouldn’t adjust with the trussrod at all. More on that in another post.
SAM_3029
I’ve kept this outer template to use for future projects as a template as I want to make a series of these guitar shapes.
SAM_3031

So here we have it, my first attempt at carving out a body.

What I would do differently:

  • I would be more patient and sand down the sides so they are nice and smoothly rounded off. Some of the edges are a little angular. This doesn’t bother me at all, but I would try and make the effort next time I cut a body out from scratch.
Leave a Reply

